Fujita Tornado Intensity Scale

Output: Press calculate

Formula:Fujita Tornado Intensity Scale

Introduction to Fujita Tornado Intensity Scale

The Fujita Tornado Intensity Scale is a scale for rating tornado intensity, based primarily on the damage tornadoes cause to human-built structures and vegetation. The scale was developed by Dr. Tetsuya Theodore Fujita in 1971. The scale classifies tornadoes into six categories (tiers) based on the damage they cause. The damage indicator (DI) is a parameter used to determine the tornado's intensity as per the scale. The scale ranges from F0 to F5, with F5 being the most intense. This formula accepts a damage indicator number and returns the corresponding Fujita tornado category.

Parameter usage:


Data validation

The damage indicator should be a whole number between 0 and 5.


This formula takes a damage indicator as input and determines the category of a tornado based on the Fujita Tornado Intensity Scale. It helps in understanding the intensity of tornadoes based on the damage they cause.

Tags: Tornado, Fujita Scale, Natural Disasters