Faraday's Law of Induction

Output: Press calculate

Formula: E = -ΔΦB / Δt

Faraday's Law of Induction, often referred to as Maxwell's Third Equation, states that the electromotive force (EMF) induced in a closed loop is proportional to the rate of change of the magnetic flux through the loop. In the formula, E represents the induced electromotive force (EMF), ΔΦB represents the change in magnetic flux, and Δt is the time interval over which this change occurs. The negative sign indicates the direction of the induced EMF is such that it opposes the change in magnetic flux, a concept known as Lenz's Law. This principle is fundamental in electromagnetic induction, which is the operating principle behind transformers, electric generators, and induction motors.

Tags: Electromagnetism, Faraday, Induction, Maxwell, Physics